View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:41 pm



Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
 Post your computer specs 
Author Message
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:13 am
I've made this baby to work at the wanted 4GHz, 55C in load (both cores average), stable (so far, 1 hour of OCCT test).

Clock rate in CPUs, is, important. With three billion cycles per second you can't notice this at gaming or tests overall I'd say (as everything from rendering to physics (nvidia) usually done on GPUs nowadays), but it can do miracles around CPU heavy, heavy shit, that has to be done on human acceptable way (frames per second) (let's say, some high quality software rendering at HD resolution).


User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 3:07 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:07 am
Having my C2D E8400 OC'ed to 4.0ghz for me is noticeable, but I also run 2-3 Virtual machines at once and have on average 100 or so chrome tabs open. And the VM's like having a decent share of the CPU depending on what they are doing. So the quicker they can execute, the quicker my overall system is.

My typical Process count is about 150-225 depending on what I am doing. With nothing running it drops down to 68. Memory wise, I consume 1.7gb with no programs, and on average 4-5gb with 1 vm and a bunch of chrome tabs. I've come close to using all 8gb, and the system slows down as it starts using the page file.


Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:52 pm
Posts: 158
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:17 am
I know that kind of business you talk about :srsfac: I find amazing how can someone have so much sh!t open that the same time, the max I ever do is to have around 10 folders open + 2 or 3 programs, nothing much.

_________________
Half-Life Episode Two official page:
http://www.hunkguerrius.webs.com/

Half-Life Episode Two ModDB profile:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/half-life-episode-two


Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 3:07 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:53 am
Have to remember as well, I run 2 monitors right now with the capability of a total of 4 monitors. And 3 is not a far or hard stretch for me to do since all I have to do is enable the monitor :P

I just do alot of stuff at once, some things need to execute so I let them be and do something else until the first task finishes, etc.

For instance right now, I am waiting for my Win2k8 R2 server to update sql2008. On another VM I have Win7 uploading a bunch of encoded php files to my webserver. It all varies.


Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 94
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:54 am
amwdrizz wrote:
...but I also run 2-3 Virtual machines at once and have on average 100 or so chrome tabs open...


Hunk Guerrius wrote:
I know that kind of business you talk about :srsfac: I find amazing how can someone have so much sh!t open that the same time, the max I ever do is to have around 10 folders open + 2 or 3 programs, nothing much.


Image

Erm... why would you have 2-3 VMs open? Are these rented out as VPSs or something? If that's the case, why would you also have 100 Chrome tabs open? I've got a serious case of confusedface here :klien:.

_________________
Image


Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:46 pm
Posts: 121
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:28 pm
I know AMW, he's just a busy multi-tasking guy, he hosts a few things (including our website) and all that technical stuff I can't be assed to remember, so yes, he kind of needs a million tabs.


Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 3:07 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:14 am
Captain B.O wrote:
Erm... why would you have 2-3 VMs open? Are these rented out as VPSs or something? If that's the case, why would you also have 100 Chrome tabs open? I've got a serious case of confusedface here :klien:.


Local VM's IE require actual system resources on my system. Tabs is due to coding so I can switch back and forth to reference material when needed or the inevitable how the fuck do I do that? moment.

VM's or sort of like VPS's the only difference really is the fact they are running on my own system instead of connecting to it via a network. But, I do all of my 'dirty' work (coding in MS Visual studio, web programming, database tests, etc) in VM's so my primary OS is never fucked up by those types of programs. And if I ever have an issue with a VM all I have to do is rebuild it in 20mins and I am back to work.

EDIT:

Also, sorry about the late response. My network here had some major issues on thurs, and I just hadn't had time to login friday to make a reply.


Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:52 pm
Posts: 158
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:49 am
Bump.

Got a new part for this Christmas, an X-FI Titanium.

:srsfac: Gotta keep this shit updated brah:

Computer 2 (gaming):

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 Ghz (OCable to at least 4.0 Ghz)
Motherboard: ASrock P5DE3
Graphics Card: MSI Nvidia Geforce GTX 260 896 Mb
Memory: Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 2x2 Gb 4096 Mb total
Sound card: Creative X-Fi Titanium PCI-E
Hard Disk: Western Digital S-ATA II 1 TB 7200 RPM
Power Supply: Nox Urano 600W
Case: Asus TA-K12

_________________
Half-Life Episode Two official page:
http://www.hunkguerrius.webs.com/

Half-Life Episode Two ModDB profile:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/half-life-episode-two


Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 94
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:29 am
Hunk Guerrius wrote:
Bump.

Got a new part for this Christmas, an X-FI Titanium.

:srsfac: Gotta keep this shit updated brah:



That's a pretty serious card. I've got a cheap one, but only because on-board sound died one day :hcrab1:

Also I gotta keep my shit updated too, I upgraded to 16GB RAM months ago...

_________________
Image


Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:52 pm
Posts: 158
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:27 am
That is insane.

_________________
Half-Life Episode Two official page:
http://www.hunkguerrius.webs.com/

Half-Life Episode Two ModDB profile:
http://www.moddb.com/mods/half-life-episode-two


Profile

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:31 am
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Tue Mar 27, 2012 4:01 am
My First PC is Intel Celron and now i purchase latest Intel Core i-3 with Intel MB.
OS - win7 Home Base.
RAM - DDR3 2GB.
HDD - 320 GB


Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 3:07 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: Post your computer specs
Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:40 pm
Should actually update now that I've built a new computer

New system (built at the end of January)

Intel Core i7 2600k Turbo OC'ed to 5ghz, typical clock is 4.1ghz
16GB DDR3 1866 Corsair Vengance Memory
Asus Sabertooth p67 rev3 board
120 GB OCZ Vertex SSD Disk drive (OS + absolutely required files only)
ThermalTake Level 10 Case

That is it for new parts, I reused the following.
Corsair 1000W PSU
ATI 6970 GPU
All prior hard disk drives


Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
Localized by Maël Soucaze © 2010 phpBB.fr